Annual General Meeting 2023

Elections of the Board of Directors

Information and documents supporting the election of the Board of Directors.

Guyana Chess Federation

NOTICE of 2023 Annual General Meeting

The AGM of The Guyana Chess Federation (GCF) will be held on Sunday November 26th 2023 at 17:00 hours via ZOOM conferencing. Financial members are invited to attend.

The list of persons who have met the membership eligibility criteria can be found on the GCF’s website The closing date for payment of membership fees, making claims by persons who believe they have met the eligibility criteria and objections to remove persons from the list is 17:00 hours Saturday November 18th 2023.

Presidential candidates must inform the Federation, in writing, of their willingness to serve, at least 35 days before the Annual National Conference where the election is scheduled to take place.

Nominations of candidates for the management slate of directors nominees comprised of the President, Vice-President, Company Secretary and four other board members, will be accepted between the period 06:00 hours November 15th 2023 to 17:00 hours November 18th, 2023.

Only nominations from teams who constitute a complete slate of financial members will be accepted.


The Agenda for the meeting:

  1. Roll Call
  2. Introduction
  3. Minutes of AGM November 1st 2021
  4. Matters arising from minutes
  5. President’s Report
  6. Financial Report
  7. Election of TEAM and Executive Management Committee
  8. Amendment to the Constitution
  9. Adaption of Development Plan (2021 – 2026)
  1. Prospective Candidates

    • Candidates intending to run for office must submit a slate of eight names, including the President, Vice-President, and six other board members.
    • Each slate member must sign a document confirming their willingness to serve in the specified position.
  2. Voting Process

    • Eligible voters will cast a single vote for a slate composed of six directors and the Company Secretary.
  3. Appointments

    • Successful candidates can appoint up to four additional members to the board once the election concludes.
  4. No Multiple Appearances

    • No person may appear on multiple slates.
  5. Candidate Presence

    • All candidates and their entire slate must be present at the election meeting.

Elections Committee:

Committe Chair

Ms Tanya Clement

Committe Member(s)

  • Vijay Datadin
  • MIshka White-Griffith

Mr. Anand Raghunauth (President)

  • Mr. Irshad Mohamad

  • Mrs. Marcia Lee

  • Mr. Loris Nathoo

  • Mr. Davion Mars

  • Mrs. Yolander Sammy

  • Mr. Shivanand Nandalall